Who We Are

Through their close collaboration at the Erlangen site, experts from inpatient and outpatient healthcare and medical research and development are in a position to rapidly identify situations relating to medical and patient-oriented demands, and transform these into product solutions.

METEAN – Who We Are

Since 2008, the Medical Technology Test and Application Center METEAN has been run on the premises of the University Hospital Erlangen by the Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS in close collaboration with the Friedrich-Alexander University of Erlangen-Nürnberg and the University Hospital Erlangen.

New medical technical solutions and devices are tested pursuant to recognized standards for their safety, usability, and interoperability under conditions of routine use. METEAN is a partner in the leading-edge cluster “Medical Valley EMN e. V.“ and, as such, takes on a key role in a variety of projects carried out by the cluster in the development of clinical observation studies, subject interviews, and studies.

METEAN provides services throughout the entire innovation process, i. e., from the substantiation of an idea through to marketing of an authorized medical device. The METEAN service portfolio is rendered by an interdisciplinary team from diverse fields – especially medicine, engineering, and business management – and thus enables optimum solutions for all aspects of transfer of innovations into medical applications.

The focus of the current activities is on research and development, data collection, and clinical observation studies, as well as the preparation and conduct of validations and clinical trials. METEAN is a facility that is part of the Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS and can therefore also draw on the expertise of the IIS and the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft.

Wer wir sind

Die am Standort Erlangen eng zusammenarbeitenden Experten aus stationärer und ambulanter Versorgung sowie medizinischer Forschung und Entwicklung können rasch medizinische und patientenorientierte Bedarfssituationen ermitteln und in Produktlösungen überführen.

METEAN – Wer wir sind

Das Medizintechnische Test- und Anwendungszentrum METEAN wird vom Fraunhofer-Institut für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS in enger Kooperation mit der Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg und dem Universitätsklinikum Erlangen seit 2008 in Räumlichkeiten des Universitätsklinikums Erlangen betrieben.

Dort werden neue medizintechnische Lösungen und Geräte unter den Anforderungen des täglichen Bedarfs auf ihre Sicherheit, Gebrauchstauglichkeit und Interoperabilität nach anerkannten Standards getestet. Als Partner im Spitzencluster »Medical Valley EMN e.V.« nimmt das METEAN eine Schlüsselrolle in verschiedenen Projekten des Clusters bei der Ausarbeitung von Anwendungsbeobachtungen, Probandenbefragungen und Studien ein.

Das METEAN bietet Dienstleistungen entlang des gesamten Innovationsprozesses an, d.h. von der Konkretisierung einer Idee bis zur Vermarktung eines zugelassenen Medizinprodukts. Das METEAN-Dienstleistungsportfolio wird durch ein interdisziplinäres Team aus unterschiedlichsten Bereichen - insbesondere Medizin, Technik und Betriebswirtschaft - erbracht und ermöglicht damit optimale Lösungen für alle Aspekte des Transfers von Innovationen in die medizinische Anwendung.

Im Mittelpunkt der aktuellen Tätigkeiten stehen Forschungs- und Entwicklungstätigkeiten, Messdatenerhebungen und Anwendungsbeobachtungen sowie die Vorbereitung und Durchführung von Validierungen und klinischen Studien. Als Einrichtung des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS kann das METEAN darüber hinaus auf die gesamte Kompetenz des Instituts und der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft zurückgreifen.